Andreia Cathelin is Technology R&D Fellow with STMIcrolectronics in Crolles, France. She started electrical engineering studies at the Polytechnic Institute of Bucarest, Romania and graduated with MS from the Institut Supérieur d’Electronique du Nord (ISEN), Lille, France in 1994. In 1998 and 2013 respectively, she received PhD and “habilitation à diriger des recherches” (French highest academic degree) from the Université de Lille 1, France. Since 1998, she has been with ST, where her focus areas are in the design of RF/mmW/THz and ultra-low-power circuits and systems. She is the key design scientist in the promotion of all advanced CMOS technologies developed in the company and has an active participation in the frame of the SOI Consortium, an industrial group federating SOI technologies ecosystem. Andreia has had numerous responsibilities inside the IEEE community since more than 10 years. At ISSCC, she has been the RF sub-committee chair from 2012 to 2015, and since 2016 is the Forums Chair and member of the Executive Committee.  She is member of ESSCIRC TPC since 2005. Since September 2013, Andreia is on the Steering Committee of ESSCIRC-ESSDERC conferences, where she has been the Chair from 2015 to September 2017.  She has served different positions on the Technical Program Committees of VLSI Symposium on Circuits from 2010 till 2016.  Andreia has authored or co-authored 130+ technical papers and 7 book chapters, and has filed more than 25 patents. Andreia is a co-recipient of the ISSCC 2012 Jan Van Vessem Award for Outstanding European Paper and of the ISSCC 2013 Jack Kilby Award for Outstanding Student Paper. She is as well the winner of the 2012 STMicroelectronics Technology Council Innovation Prize, for having introduced on the company’s roadmap the integrated CMOS THz technology for imaging applications.



Frank Zhang received the B.E. and M.S. degrees in electrical engineering from the Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art, New York, NY, in 2000 and 2001, respectively. He received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from Columbia University, New York, NY, in 2008. He has been a Principal Member of Technical Staff at Globalfoundries since 2015, where he has designed integrated circuits using the 22nm FD-SOI process targeting applications in WLAN, 5G cellular, and automotive radar. He has previously worked on RF transceiver circuits for Icera/Nvidia (2011-2015), Texas Instruments (2008-2011), and Motorola (2001-2003).  He was the recipient of the Best Student Paper Award from the 2008 IEEE RFIC Symposium.


Borivoje Nikolić is the National Semiconductor Distinguished Professor of Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley.  He received the Dipl.Ing. and M.Sc. degrees in electrical engineering from the University of Belgrade, Serbia, in 1992 and 1994,  respectively, and the Ph.D. degree from the University of California at Davis in 1999.

His research activities include digital, analog and RF integrated circuit design and communications and signal processing systems. He is co-author of the book Digital Integrated Circuits: A Design Perspective, 2nd ed, Prentice-Hall, 2003. Dr. Nikolić received many awards in his career, including the NSF  CAREER award in 2003, and the best paper awards at the IEEE International Solid- State Circuits Conference, Symposium on VLSI Circuits, IEEE International SOI Conference, European Solid-State Circuits Research Conference, European Solid-State Device Research Conference, S3S conference and the ACM/IEEE International Symposium of Low- Power Electronics. Dr Nikolic is an IEEE Fellow.


Sorin P. Voinigescu holds the Stanley Ho Chair in Microelectronics and is the Director of the VLSI Research Group in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Toronto. He is an IEEE Fellow and a world renowned expert on millimeter-wave and 100+Gb/s integrated circuits and atomic-scale semiconductor device technologies.  Between 1994 and 2002 he was first with Nortel Networks and later with Quake Technologies in Ottawa, Canada.  In 2008-2009 and 2015-16, he spent sabbatical leaves at Fujitsu Laboratories of America, Sunnyvale, California, at NTT's Device Research Laboratories in Atsugi, Japan, and at Robert Bosch GmbH in Germany, exploring technologies and circuits for 128GBaud fiber-optic systems, 300Gb/s mm-wave radio transceivers, and radar sensors.

Dr. Voinigescu co-founded and was the CTO of two fabless semiconductor start-ups: Quake Technologies and Peraso Technologies. He was a member of the ITRS RF/AMS Committee, of the  ExCom of IEEE CISICS, and is a member of the ExCom of the IEEE BCTM. He received NORTEL’s President Award for Innovation in 1996 and is a co-recipient of the Best Paper Award at the 2001 IEEE CICC, the 2005 IEEE CSICS, and of the Beatrice Winner Award at the 2008 IEEE ISSCC. His students have won numerous Best Student Paper awards, most recently at IEEE IMS 2017. In 2013 he was recognized with the ITAC Lifetime Career Award for his contributions to the Canadian Semiconductor Industry.